10th Annual Science & Engineering Technology Conference/DoD Tech Exposition

"Creating Capability Surprise Through Innovative S&T and Operational Prototyping"

21 - 23 April 2009

Charleston, SC



Tuesday, 21 April 2009

Strategic Imperatives for DoD S&T Program
Mr. Alan R. Shaffer, Principal Deputy Director, Defense Research & Engineering

The Advanced Systems & Concepts Portfolio of Opportunities
Dr. Charles Perkins, Acting, Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Advanced Systems & Concepts

The DoD T&E/S&T Program
Mr. Gerald ChristensonMr. Gerald Christenson, T&E/S&T Program Manager, Defense Test Resource Management Center

Quick Reaction and Rapid Reaction Funds
Mr. Glenn Fogg, Deputy Director, Rapid Reaction Technology Office

Coalition Warfare Program
Colonel Kathleen Hithe, USAF, Deputy Director for Coalition Warfare

Allied Science & Technology. Changes at the Defence Science & Technology Organization
Featured Speaker: Professor Robert Clark, CDS, Australian Defence Science & Technology

Keynote Address
Dr. Zachary J. Lemnios, Chief Technology Officer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Session 1: Army Session

  • Dr. Cary Chabalowski, Director for Science & Technology Integration, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army (Research & Technology)
  • Dr. Walter (Rick) F. Morrison, Principal, Booz Allen Hamilton

Army Science & Technology: Empowering Soldiers Through Innovative Technology
Dr. Thomas Killion, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army (Research &Technology)/Chief Scientist

Technology Focus Teams/Systems Integration Domains
COL Craig G. Langhauser, Director, Simulation and Training Center, RDECOM

Power and Energy
Dr. Edward C. Shaffer, Sensors and Electronic Devices Directorate, U.S. Army Research Laboratory

Network Science
Dr. David Skatrud, Director, Army Research Office

Robotic Systems
Mr. Jeffrey F. Jaster, Deputy Associate Director for Autonomous Systems Intelligent Ground Systems, RDECOM-TARDEC

Special Presentation: The Focus Center Research Program
Dr. Jeffery Rogers, Program Manager, Focus Center Research Program, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)


Wednesday, 22 April 2009

Air Force STEM Workforce Today and Tomorrow
Mr. Leif E. Peterson, National Research Council, Air Force Science Board Committee on "Examination of the U. S. Air Force's STEM Workforce Needs in the Future and Its Strategy to Meet Those Needs"

Panel Discussionon "Processes for Effective R&D Planning & Technology Transition"
Panel Moderator: Dr. John W. Betz, Chair, Air Force Scientific Advisory Board

Session 3: Naval Session
Innovating for the Future Mr. Nick Guertin, Deputy Director for Open Architecture (PEO IWS 7B)Dr. Larry Schuette, Director of Innovation, Office of Naval Research

Panel on Naval Open Architecture
Panel Moderator: Mr. Nick Guertin, Deputy Director for Open Architecture (PEO IWS 7B)


Thursday, 23 April 2009

Session 4: Capabilities Needed by the Combatant Commanders
How Capabilities are Developed and Delivered to the Combatant Commanders
Mr. Mike Knollmann, Assistant Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Joint & Coalition Operations Support)

Mr. Martin Drake, Science Advisor, USCENTCOM

Mr. Jim Burdell, Science Advisor, USPACOM

Mr. Forrest G. Ruble, EUCOM Science Advisor, ECJ8-Q

Mr. Herb Warden, JCTD Program Manager, USSOUTHCOM

Mr. Edmund M. Doray, Chief, Concepts and Technology Division, N-NC Interagency Directorate, NORTHCOM

Mr. Lou Bernstein, Science Advisor, USTRANSCOM

Mr. Dave Tyner, Deputy Division Chief, J81, USSTRATCOM

Session: Strategic Discussion on DoD Independent Research and Development
Opening Remarks
Dr. Andre van Tilborg, Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Science and Technology

Military Department Presentations

    Army - Dr. Jagadeesh Pamulapati, Deputy Director for Laboratory Management
    Navy - Rear Admiral Nevin P. Carr, USN, Chief of Naval Research
    Air Force - Mr. Wendell D. Banks, Director, Plans & Programs, Air Force Research Laboratory